top of page

Logan's Birth Story

This is the birth story from an incredibly, strong-willed woman. She was very determined to have an unmedicated, vaginal birth from the day I met her. Sometimes true emergencies do occur. Fortunately, her son is just as determined as she. Despite being in the hospital for much longer than she hoped to be and not meeting her son for much longer than any mother wishes, she is still breastfeeding a year later. What a miracle to witness his birth. Happy Birthday Logan!!

July 28,2016

"The day before my scheduled induction, I woke up at 9am and immediately started having contractions 2 minutes apart. We got everything in the car and headed to the hospital to try and have a natural birth. The first 2 hours I went from 2cm to 7cm before getting into a labor room from assessment. I labored for a few hours naturally. I felt like I was going against my body and not pushing like I felt like I needed. I had one good push and my water broke but I continued to go against my body and not push because I was told my cervix was swelling from pushing before 10cm. I got an epidural and labored a few more hours without progress. Around 7:30 they told me I was starting to run fever and I could get monitored and possibly get Pitocin if the contractions weren't strong enough or I could go ahead and get a c-section. With the contractions still very strong after 2 rounds of epidural I opted for the c section. Around 8:00 I went into the OR and had Logan at 8:11, he wasn't breathing and inhaled meconium. They got him breathing and took my 9lb 13oz baby to the NICU. They got ready to pull my catheter out to bring me back to my room so I could rest and go see my baby. When they pulled it out I started bleeding again and they had to cut my back open. I lost 2 liters of blood and got up to 106.7 fever. I spent 3 1/2 in the OR that I don't remember from going in and out and getting put under and intubated before being transferred to OLOL to see a neurologist. I woke up as soon as I got to OLOL and got my tube taken out, after I tried to pull it out 3 times and then went to sleep. When I woke up I was transported back to Woman's Hospital. I felt horrible after getting to Woman's and discovered I had Ileus. So I was still in ICU at Woman's and not allowed to see my baby until he was three days old and got a 10 minute visit until I got my NG tube out the next day and cleared to leave my room for a few hours in between IV, meds, and blood work. Logan and I were both discharged from the hospital a week after being admitted healthy and happy as can be." Logan's birth story - Bobbye W.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page